top of page

Victoria Ska and Reggae Festival




For those unfamiliar with Ska music, heading to an event like the Victoria Ska and Reggae Festival may seem like not our cup of tea. I think most of us focus more on the reggae island vibes and assume we know what to expect. This is what I believed when I was invited to shoot with their volunteer team, but I was delighted to discover that there is a rich culture created by the good people of SkaFest that will transport you all over the world.

According to Masterclass.com, Ska music has its roots in 1960s Jamaican, 1970s British, and 1990s American Punk music that comes together to create an umbrella of sound that incorporates many different musical compositions (Masterclass 2021). With roots in musical activism for social justice and a blending of brass, wind and percussion instruments, it is easy to see how Reggae and Punk artists are also in the mix when it comes to the festival lineup.

My favorite artists of the weekend I feel like are all very good examples of this blending of what Ska is, and the roadmap for me to learn more!




Batuque Axé:

I have a slight familiarity with Brazilian Music, but I felt that I was able to learn more through witnessing Batuque Axé perform.

The cultural roots of their compositions are based on Samba, Samba Reggae, Forró, and Maracatu. Sung in Portuguese, Batuque Axe also pays homage to slaves who were brought to Brazil by recounting folk songs of enslaved peoples. Along with their high energy and beautiful vocals, they are also often accompanied by Samba dancers and fantastic all-ages Capoeira performers. My only gripe is that I still can’t find them on Spotify.



 


Big Mountain:

This Band fit more of what I was expecting from a Ska and Reggae festival! I would be remiss if I didn't mention the wonderful life rendition of “Baby, I love your way”, but what struck me was the relaxing loving energy their music conveyed to the festival goers. Joaquin “Quino” McWhinney took the time to speak to the crowd to encourage us to be calm, love each other, and delivered a wonderful and passionate anti-war message to the crowd.






 


Ammoye:

The first thing that struck me about Ammoye’s performance was the bright energy, fun and strong social justice messages. A 6x JUNO award nominee, Ammoye is a FANTASTIC entry point for people who might be interested in getting into Reggae music! I felt happy, empowered, and ready to call for what is right and ant-violence while listening to her music, and I look forward to the next time I get to see this artist live.





 



Less Than Jake:

I feel like headliners always get A LOT of attention, but I want to share my perspective on Less than Jake.

I originally was not planning to shoot this show at the Victoria Curling Club. I was just signed up for shooting their workshop, but after hearing them speak, I changed my mind.

Less than Jake entered their workshop with big smiling faces, amazing chemistry within their band, and ready to answer questions and banter with the crowd and each other. For me, I was most taken with their stories of working in the music industry as well as their collaboration, years of experience, and what I would have to say is “company culture” (Music is a business after all). I was not familiar with the band before the workshop, but when they mentioned their collaboration with Ice Nine Kills, all of a sudden the concept of interconnected innovation, partnerships, and multi-level support really struck a chord for me.


So that is why I decided to stay up WAY past my bedtime to shoot their show.

So a couple of things about punk shows if you have not already been; We all remember the Astroworld tragedy, and the anxieties around crowd crushing, but unlike hip hop/EDM music where “Raging” seems to be a new thing, mosh pits in the Punk scene are significantly more comfortable (As a secret metal head, I can confirm from personal experience).


Less than Jake brought the most fun energy you can expect from a band that has been through thick and thin, thrives on authenticity, and has possibly the best on-stage sense of humour I have ever witnessed. From pulling people on stage, and playing their hits (Including All My Best Friends are Metalheads which I swear is in a movie I have seen and justcan’t remember), this was a once (or maybe twice??) in a lifetime opportunity to see a Punk legend grace the stage.




A Guide to Ska Music: History and Sounds of Ska MusicMasterClasshttps://www.masterclass.com › articles › ska-music-guide


Photography & Article: Katie Brynjolfson, Contributor


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page